Eastham Historical Society
THE CHESTER RANLETT TOOL MUSEUM is located behind the Swift-Daley House. On display are hundreds of tools, many of them unusual and unique to this area. A forge on the premises operates at the whim of the blacksmith. Museum hours are the same as the Swift-Daley House.
(Closed temporarily due to 2013 major renovations at the Swift-Daley Museum. Check back for further details)
The A. Thomas Dill Beach Camp, on the same site as the Swift-Daley House, survived the 1978 storm that ravaged the spit south of the Coast Guard Station. Built in 1940, it is furnished as it was when used as a hunting and fishing camp. Moved to its present location in 1995, it is listed in the National Resister of Historic Places. At lower right it is pictured prior to the storm. (Closed temporarily due to 2013 major renovations at the Swift-Daley Museum. Check back for further details)
THE EASTHAM WINDMILL, located on the green in the center of town, was built in Plymouth about 1680. It was moved to Truro in the 1770s and then to Eastham in 1793, first to where the National Seashore Salt Pond Visitor Center is now located, and then to its present site in 1808. Lovingly restored and maintained, it is both the oldest and and last working gristmill on the Cape. Owned and maintained by the Town of Eastham, the mill is open 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. during July and August; 1-5 p.m. on Sunday. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
RETURN TO HOME PAGE